Get the Peace of Mind Only an Experienced Attorney Can Provide
Knowingly Driving Without Insurance
Get Experienced Legal Help from Our Baltimore Traffic Ticket Attorneys
Maryland requires all vehicles to be ensured to protect state driver’s in the event of an accident—with the minimum amounts being $30,000 for bodily injury per person, $60,000 bodily injury per crash, and $15,000 for property damage. If an uninsured motorist is involved in a collision with another driver, not only may they be financially responsible for any corresponding damages and injuries, but they also face criminal charges for knowingly driving without insurance.
If you have been charged with driving without insurance in Baltimore, Scheuerman Law, LLC is ready to help you avoid the criminal penalties you face. In order for the prosecution to prove your guilt, they must have proof that you were aware the vehicle was insured. There are many legal defenses available. Our legal team could assess your case, determine which defenses apply to your case, and help you get the most favorable results.
Call 410-630-4274 to Schedule a Consultation
Is driving without insurance a misdemeanor crime? Yes, driving without insurance in Maryland is a misdemeanor crime. This means not only do you have to pay expensive fines if convicted, but you may also be sentenced to jail or get your driver’s license revoked.
First-Time Offense vs Second-Time Offense
For a first-time offense, a conviction is punishable by a maximum one-year jail term, a fine not exceeding $1,000, and five points on your driving record. For a second offense, a conviction carries a jail sentence of up to two years, a maximum $2,000 fine, and another five points on your license, which could lead to license suspension.
If you forget to renew your insurance, you could face costly administrative fines from the MVA—even if you don’t receive a ticket for driving without insurance. Insurance lapse penalties include losing your driver’s license and/or vehicle registration, fees of $150 for the first 30 days then $7 for each day of the lapse (at a maximum $2,500), a $25 fee for restoring your vehicle’s registration, and other penalties.
Can You Go to Jail For Driving Without Insurance in Maryland?
Yes, it is possible to go to jail for driving without insurance in Maryland. In Maryland, it is illegal to drive a motor vehicle without insurance or other financial security, and if you are caught driving without insurance, you may be subject to criminal penalties. These can include fines, jail time, and the suspension or revocation of your driver's license. It is important to always make sure that you have valid insurance coverage when driving, to protect yourself and others on the road.
Call (410) 630-4274 to Let Scheuerman Law, LLC Fight for You Today
We understand that everyone makes mistakes, but that doesn’t mean you should be criminally charged for missing a payment or forgetting to renew your insurance. With over two decades of combined legal experience, our Baltimore traffic ticket lawyers can guide you through the intricacies of the criminal justice system and administrative process while protecting your rights and future. Do no risk serving these severe penalties and let me fight for you immediately.
For more information, contact our firm and request a free consultation today.
Providing Clients Peace of Mind
A Great Attorney Can Make All the Difference
Our successful jury trials and 13 years of prosecutor experience is what you need on your side.
We have 50 years of combined legal experience among our attorneys.
Every case is handled strategically with precision and preparation.
We're ready to take prosecutors, judges, and juries head-on for you.
Defending against charges takes skill, and we possess the keen ability to do so.
We go into a courtroom commanding a sense of confidence and readiness.
“If you want to win, you want Mark Scheuerman and his team.”- Anna O.